Friday, September 2, 2011

Welsh Music Prize Short list announced

The shortlist of 12 albums selected for this year's inaugral Welsh Music Prize has been announced. It is particularly gratifying to see Al Lewis, Colorama and Sweet Baboo have made it to the final. Full list is:

Al Lewis - In The Wake [Al Lewis Music]
Colorama - Box [See Monkey Do Monkey Records]
Funeral For A Friend - Welcome Home Armageddon [Distiller Records]
Gruff Rhys - Hotel Shampoo [Turnstile Music]
Lleuwen - Tan [Gwymon]
Manic Street Preachers - Postcards from a Young Man [Columbia]
Stagga - The Warm Air Room [Rag and Bone]
Sweet Baboo - I’m a Dancer/Songs About Sleepin’ [Shape Records]
The Blackout - Hope [Cooking Vinyl]
The Gentle Good - Tethered for the Storm [Gwymon]
The Joy Formidable - Big Roar [Atlantic]
Y Niwl - Y Niwl [Aderyn Papur]

Huw Stephens, Radio 1 presenter and co-organiser of Welsh Music Prize said: “We are very pleased to launch the Welsh Music Prize with twelve strong albums from Welsh artists. The shortlist is but a reflection on the quality music made in Wales and released internationally. We hope the Prize brings these collections of work to a new audience, and we are looking forward to announcing an overall winner on October 21st.”

Thursday, September 1, 2011

New album for Campesinos!

Los Campesinos will be releasing their 4th album entitled "Hello Sadness" 14th November.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

The Angry Mob in Llandudno

The Kaiser Chiefs will be appearing at the Venue Cymru in Llandudno 27th January. The tour is in support of their 4th album "The Future is Medieval" which was released in June.